Testimonials2018-10-23T21:54:40+00:00

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Testimonials

Myself and my fiance stayed over for 2 nights following the wedding of our friend Paula and Anthony at the weekend. I’m pleased to say that the whole weekend was absolutely brilliant. I met with one member of staff who was called Paula. At the time she was setting up for a gala within the same room as the wedding reception had been the day before. she was hard at work making sure all the finer details were spot on for the event to follow. she chatted with me and the bride and we had some laughs and she was an all round friendly lady. We met again later the same evening when she came to our table during dinner and offered us all a drink. After chatting for a while it became apparent that this lady was infact one of the director’s of the hotel. She had her sleeves rolled up and was hard at work just like all other staff members and it really stuck out to me that her clients and customers are her focus in keeping a good business. I would gladly put all of my trust in this lovely lady should I need to use the Glenavon for anything from a stay over to a packed out function.
THANK YOU AGAIN FOR A FANTASTIC STAY AND I HOPE YOU CONTINUE IN THRIVING IN YOUR BUSINESS. XXX
Bernie McCrory Facebook Review October 2018
Beautiful hotel in the centre of Cookstown, close to all amenities. This 3 star hotel has been decorated to an excellent standard, and would prove to be a wonderful location for a wedding. Situated on 9 acres of mature land with a river running along side, this hotel disappears from the town around it, nestling into the landscape. Very quiet, no hustle and bustle from traffic. Rooms are very well kept, spacious, bright, exceptionally clean, comfortable and pleasant. En suite had contemporary fixtures and fittings with a stunning ‘rainfall’ shower, which as a weary traveller was a God send! All decor throughout the hotel was gorgeous, and a credit to the owners. Breakfast is the usual fare- Full Irish, cereals and continental pastries etc. it was a self service affair, nice and relaxed, morning papers are provided. Staff on the desk are friendly and helpful, waiting staff courteous and efficient. Overall, a very pleasant stay, highly recommend.
Claire W Trip Advisor Review September 2018
My first choice.
Excellent staff, comfortable room and bed, Food at dinner and breakfast both high quality. Sky sports in bar is great. Swimming pool and gym excellent, plenty parking and nice location.
David Brown Booking.com Review September 2018
Fabulous stay and worth every penny
Room was fabulous even though I booked a 1 bedroom it was really spacious with a big bed and massive bathroom and the staff even though I did not get in till past 11 were able to rustle me up some food.
I did not use all the facilities as i was only there one night. So did not find anything that I didn’t like.
Matthew Booking.com Review September 2018
Beautiful hotel in the centre of Cookstown, close to all amenities. This 3 star hotel has been decorated to an excellent standard, and would prove to be a wonderful location for a wedding. Situated on 9 acres of mature land with a river running along side, this hotel disappears from the town around it, nestling into the landscape. Very quiet, no hustle and bustle from traffic. Rooms are very well kept, spacious, bright, exceptionally clean, comfortable and pleasant.
Claire W Trip Advisor Review September 2018
Amazing food, cocktails, live music and atmosphere!! Loving The Cellar since it’s refurbishment- think I’ve found my new favourite restaurant for sure!
Kathleen Burns Facebook Review August 2018

Beautiful hotel and wonderfully friendly staff.Everything was clean,the leisure centre was absolutely brilliant,very fresh and a nice size.Highly recommend.
The breakfast was adequate and the service was spot on by lovely staff

72perksy Tripadvisor Review August 2018

Wonderful Hotel
I stayed here whilst on a charity cycle. The hotel had donated rooms and meals for some of the cyclist and crew. Everything about this hotel was wonderful, from the time we entered until we left the staff made sure we were 100% happy. The facilities, rooms,restaurant and bar were all magnificent.
I will return
Darrell H Tripadvisor Review July 2018
We had our wedding here on Fri 27th July 2018 and it was the most wonderful day. From the very first time we went to view the hotel the hospitality from the staff was excellent, especially Paula. We fell in love with the hotel,it was by far the nicest venue we had looked at. In the run up to our special day the reception staff were more than helpful anytime we rang. All our guests commended the food on the day and the service from all staff, as well as commenting how lovely the rooms were. The leisure facilities are excellent and all our guests enjoyed the pool the next morning, especially the children. Paul and I would like to thank Paula, James and Roberta, who was master of ceremonies on the day, for all they done for us to make sure our day was special. It was perfect from start to finish. We would highly recommend the Glenavon for any occasion as it’s a beautiful hotel and all the staff go above and beyond their duties to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Thanks once again for having us and making our day so special, we look forward to staying again in the future xxx
Ramona Doherty Facebook Review July 2018
Spacious, excellent hospitality and quality
Stayed at this hotel with three other business colleagues on 23rd July for one night. I must say the quality of this hotel is impressive, every where is spacious, rooms nicely furnished, comfortable, has excellent amenities and the staff really pleasant and helpful. Also had an evening meal on arrival and the food was good, just what we needed after a delayed flight.
I have made a note of this hotel as I hope to go again, not for business but for a personal chill out few days. I’m sure I will not be disappointed.
Lee M Trip Advisor Review July 2018
We had our daughter’s christening party in Bistro Vino today, and I have to say the hospitality we received was second to none. The staff were amazing, and the food was lovely. I would highly recommend the Glenavon for special occasion parties. Thank you very much.
Lorraine Donaghy Facebook Review June 2018
Favourite hotel
This is my favourite hotel that I use in Northern Ireland, it’s nicely tucked away just outside of the town centre. It’s always quite and clean, I really like the rooms, plenty of space in them with a proper sized TV. The restaurant is good with excellent food, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good compared to most other hotels.
deangermouse Tripadvisor Review June 2018
Fantastic Hotel
We recently spent 2 nights staying at this hotel at the end of May and we were very impressed. We had a family room which was huge, meaning that for once in a hotel the 4 is us weren’t tripping over each other and our luggage.
The bathroom was also a really good size and, like the bedroom, was spotlessly clean.
The was a wide selection of food to choose from at breakfast and it was great to see some traditional Irish touches, like potato bread and soda farls, that you don’t tend to get in the chain hotels.
On one evening we ate with extended family members in The Cellar where the food was excellent. As someone who has Coeliac disease it was great to be given a proper printed gluten free menu with a wide selection of choices. I can safely say it was one of the best Gluten Free menus I have had in 15+ years, to the point where I struggled to choose! All of the staff we came into contact with during our stay, whether it was receptionists, waiting staff or cleaners were all really friendly and could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
We have stayed in lots of hotels but this was the first time all of us were sad to leave. We are very much looking forward to our next stay!
Devon wanderers Tripadvisor Review June 2018
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and the first and last impression was friendly staff, who were so well trained, from receptionists to waiters/waitresses and bar staff. All were prepared to go the extra mile to make us feel welcome and well looked after.
The Cellar restaurant has been recently designed and the work of the designer makes a place where a nice relaxing meal can be had while enjoying beautiful surroundings.
The selected furniture, lighting, flooring, etc bring together a sense of wellbeing and comfort. I would highly recommend this hotel.
PhilDub2013 Tripadvisor Review June 2018

We recently visited the Glenavon Hotel for a family celebration and on arrival we were greeted by two very friendly receptionists. In the beautifully decorated Cellar Lounge a young and very pleasant bar man, I think his name was Michael, very efficiently took our drinks order. A very appealing Gin menu was available and a few of our group were tempted into having one.. or two!

Our waiter on the night was Anthony, who explained the menu choices and special fish option available. He showed great knowledge of the menu and recommended a few dishes. The order was promptly taken and later we were taken to our table and our drinks carried down for us.

A few of us had the Chilli Chicken to start which was very pleasing on the pallet, something I will definitely order again. Another member of my party had the Garlic Bread topped with Bacon and Cheese, this was plentiful and tasty.
Steak, Chicken and fish seemed to be the popular choice of main course with our party, everyone’s food was delicious and the steaks were perfectly cooked. Our desserts were beautifully presented and tasted even better. A huge complement to the chef and his team.

With the entertainment in the lounge and the great atmosphere in the restaurant as a whole, we thought it would be rude not to stay for another few drinks… although it took little to tempt us.

Massive thanks to the staff, especially Anthony, who’s attention was exceptional and an asset to the hotel, and as always Michelles warming manner and friendly,joking nature can put a smile on anyones face.. we will definitely be back.

bridgetdevlin1 Tripadvisor Review May 2018
What can I say about this fantastic hotel, 5 stars simply aren’t enough! We held our wedding reception here on 12th May 2018 and couldn’t have asked for a more relaxed and special day. A massive thank you to Paula and James who couldn’t have done more for us during the booking, run-up and the day itself. The effort and kindness showed by all staff was second to none and our guests were blown away by the excellent food, drink, hospitality and rooms. Every single one of us was made to feel like a VIP and we have had so much lovely feedback from guests. Highly recommend any engaged couples to have a look – you will have such a stress-free, seamless and enjoyable day. Thank you, Niamh and Ethan Hesketh xxx
Niamh Hesketh Facebook Review May 2018

Thank you so much for last Thursday night, University of Ulster Student Union Awards Dinner and Dance. I think I can speak on behalf of all attendees that it was exactly what we were aiming to achieve as the “PARTY OF THE YEAR!!”

Can you also extend our thanks to all staff members of the Glenavon who were involved with helping us deliver such a smooth and successful event on Thursday. The standard of service and attention we all received was spectacular, it definitely helped Karen and I to relax that little bit knowing we had the support there.

Again, THANK YOU.

Catherine Quinn University of Ulster Email Review April 2018
We recently stayed as group of 24 for a management conference and the hotel was excellent. Staff were friendly and welcoming, everything was organised as requested. Reception staff were brilliant at ensuring check in was smooth and that everything ran according to schedule. The lunch and dinner were both excellent quality & service was efficient & friendly at all times.
mdminx21 Belfast Trip Advisor Review April 2018
I booked a private room at the weekend to celebrate our daughters first holy communion. The staff couldn’t have been more welcoming to ourselves and made our daughter feel extra special with the added attention she received. The booking was seamless and the room was set up just as requested. The food itself was gorgeous as always, there was more than enough and everyone left thoroughly satisfied. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thank you to James and Fiona for helping with the arrangements and to Roz in reception for such a warm welcome on arrival.
Katrina Smith Facebook Review April 2018
We had a lovely time here, the staff have to be the most helpful and friendly I have met anywhere. Next time we are in Buddy Bear school of conductive education we will definitely be staying in the Glenavon!
Sophia O’Dowd Facebook Review March 2018
Brilliant is the only word I can use for this hotel. Had a beautiful Sunday dinner here on Sunday and I never be disappointed. Service excellent and food delicious.x
Just me Google Review March 2018
This place Is by far the nicest hotel i’ve stayed in very modern. From the price of food to the the drinks and breakfast was great, great selection on the breakfast and dinner menu. The indoor pool area and sauna also was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Recommended this to anyone.
Jonny Warnock Google Review March 2018
Thank to all the staff in the Glenavon hotel for their help in celebrating a surprise double 30th and 40th birthday tonight. Nothing was any trouble lovely and really helpful staff!! Would recommend them again!!!!
Ciara Campbell Facebook Review March 2018
Had a fantastic break at Glenavon House Hotel during mid-term. The new Cellar Bar was buzzing with live music each night – food was phenomenal from breakfast to dinner and service was excellent from check in to the staff in the bar and restaurant. A wee gem of a place to stay, eat, drink and explore the surrounding area. Special shout out to Jungle NI – great spot for a day trip
Paddy Murney Facebook Review February 2018
We have stayed The Glenavon several times now, with and without the kids and it never disappoints. There is always a friendly welcome from the staff and a lovely atmosphere in the downstairs bar, which has recently undergone a beautiful refurbishment (love the Cocktail garnish wall!). Family rooms are extremely spacious and there is always lots of great storage. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. The kids (6 & 7) have always had a ball and love the pool which is very family friendly. A visit to Jungle NI was also excellent!
Jude Malone Facebook Review February 2018
GREAT OVERNIGHT STAY
I had an overnight stay here last Saturday night. We arrived at 2pm and could check in straight away as the room hadn’t been used the night before. The room was overlooking the river and was bright and airy. The bathroom was lovely and spacious with a shower head plus a drencher head aswell.
We dropped off our bags and a headed to the pool. Towels were provided and lockers were £1 which you got back again. The pool was a good size with a small pool for kids and a hot tub that seats 6 with 2 heated loungers that are tiled mosaic. I loved these. Also, had sauna and steam room. We spend a good hour and half here just chilling out.
We booked dinner in the Cellar Restaurant for 7.30pm. Went down about 7.20pm and were asked to take a seat in the bar and were given menus. The bar man came down and took an order for drinks and shortly after that they took our dinner order. When the food was ready we were moved to restaurant to eat. The bar and restaurant are modern looks like it isn’t long renovated. The food was lovely and very reasonable.
From the moment, we checked in till we checked out the staff were amazing very friendly and nothing too much trouble.
I will return here again and have told my friends and family about it. I know it says it 3 star but I would give it 4 stars no problem.
Susan B Tripadvisor Review February 2018
Evening Meal with Family.
Enjoyed a great meal with family. Difficult to choose what to have from the menu. Friendly, helpful staff. Good service. Area for dining was set out really nice so that you felt like your table was quite private.
andyonekanobie Tripadvisor Review February 2018
Myself and my husband Paul Brady would just like to thank the Glenavon Cookstown for the wonderful service we received for our wedding on the 30/12/17. We met with Paula July 2016 when we were choosing a hotel, from that 1st visit we knew it was the place for us, it was the first and last hotel we seen we just loved it. From that day we have had nothing but positive experiences, including a lovely family stay in the summer. Nothing was ever a bother. As the wedding approached we dealt a bit more with James, like many of the staff James has been working here many years- which it testament to the great establish you have. Again everything was easy and stress free! Our wedding day was everything we could of wished for and more!! Couldn’t recommend you enough! Thank you and i wish you even more success in the future!!
Mr & Mrs Brady.
Ashlene Brady Facebook Review January 2018
Just left the cellar bar. Absolutely brilliant. New decor, great staff, unreal food. Best there is!!
Paul McCrory Facebook Review January 2018
Really Friendly Staff and Lovely Hotel. I stayed here for two nights I was quite impressed by this hotel. The staff were friendly at all times and very helpful.
Breakfast was good and the prices are decent especially if you are in early enough for the early bird menu.Good choices of food at keen prices , what more can you ask for?
Good customer service and that’s what I got.
Danny N Tripadvisor Review January 2018
Thanks to Glenavon hotel for a lovely 7th birthday treat for my daughter. Her and her 2 friends had a fun swim followed by a blow dry in with Leonas salon, then upstairs for a delicious meal. It was really lovely with everything in the one place. The staff, as usual, both down in club riviera and restaurant were just amazing and treated the party girls really well. Thank you to all.
Brenda Smith Facebook Review January 2018
We recently had our wedding reception at the Glenavon House Hotel, Cookstown, and everything was perfect. James Wylie handled the booking from start to finish and we couldn’t recommend him highly enough. Everything was “no problem”. He answered all our queries and responded to emails very promptly. All our requests were met and everything was perfect. We look forward to our anniversary meal and we want to take this opportunity to thank the Glenavon House Hotel for our excellent wedding reception. The meal was delicious by head chef, Patrick Mallon, and all the staff were very attentive to our guests. Everyone had a fantastic day. You can be guaranteed a stress free wedding, with friendly and helpful staff at the Glenavon. Thank you again James and all the team.
Annie Q26 Tripadvisor Review December 2017
We had our parents 40 year wedding anniversary meal here yesterday evening as this is the hotel they were married in. There were 19 of us and the service and food were amazing. We got seated in the annex of the restaurant which was great with young children as they could move around without distrubing other diners. Everyone was served at the one time with excellent food. We had a great night thank you!
Danielle Sheridan Facebook Review December 2017
We spent the weekend here for the santa experience and it was fantastic. Staff were so lovely and food was fabulous!! Great value and we will definitely be returning. Thank you so much for a great weekend.
Jacqueline Grant Facebook Review December 2017
Myself and wife stayed here in a riverside suite one Saturday night in Dec 2017.Room excellent, meals in cellar restaurant including breakfast excellent, staff great and spa fantastic. Couldn’t fault in any shape or form and have already booked for another night early next year.
the dodger2 Tripadvisor Review December 2017
Perfect Wedding Venue
We had our wedding in the Glenavon on 28th October and couldn’t have picked a better venue. From first calling into the hotel to ask for information from Paula, to our first meeting with James, they couldn’t have been more professional or helpful; nothing was too big or too small. On the day everyone was very impressed with the food, service and rooms. Our reception was held in the Tyrone Suite and the room was stunning and has a great layout for a wedding, our own ideas were accommodated for and incorporated perfectly. On the day we couldn’t have been treated better, 1st class service. All in all we are so pleased we booked with the Glenavon and would advise any newly engaged couples to call in for a visit.
Rachel & Kevin Tripadvisor Review December 2017
Twelve of us stayed here on Saturday night what a fab time we had food was excellent staff fantastic rooms spic and span this was our second year for our Xmas party we will be back well done glenavon.
Theresa Martin Facebook Review December 2017
I cannot rate the Glenavon highly enough, the staff are exceptional and go to great lengths to make every aspect of your experience perfect. I have held our annual Christmas party at the Glenavon for the last number of years, nothing is ever a problem, the facilities and food are fantastic, the attention to detail is amazing and the staff are so personal and welcoming, the level of professionalism across the board is outstanding. Thank you for everything!
Caitlin Lynn Facebook Review November 2017
We had our wedding in the Glenavon on 6th October and couldn’t have asked for a better venue. From our first meeting with James he couldn’t have been more helpful. On the day our guests were very impressed with the food, service and rooms. Our reception room was stunning and has a great layout for a wedding. On the day we couldn’t have been treated better by both James and Paula, 1st class service. All in all we are so pleased we booked with Glenavon. Louise & John
Louise P Tripadvisor Review November 2017
We absolutely loved this hotel, I’ve stayed many times on business but this was the 1st time my wife has joined me. From the warm and friendly welcome at reception, lovely rooms (201), great shower and very comfy bed, spotlessly clean, delicious food in the restaurant, steak and fajitas especially, not forgetting the fantastic breakfast we cannot fault this hotel for the price, service and quality, special mention to the staff, always ready for a bit of banter, thank you and we look forward to coming back very soon.
Tony 1968s Tripadvisor Review November 2017
Stayed here on Friday night with my husband an 3 children
Was an absolute delight room was amazing
Food in the cellar bar was amazing
The staff were amazing an nothing was ever a problem, they made the time to interact with all guests an the children
Una at reception was amazing definitely needs a pay rise �
Will definitely be back here
Tanya Preshur Facebook Review November 2017
This place is amazing! So happy to have had the opportunity to have my wedding at the Glenavon. Great packages to suit everyone and 5 star service from staff. Haven’t heard a bad word said from any of my wedding guests about the food or service, it’s all been compliments on how great the food was or how lovely the rooms were and how beautiful the hotel and spa is. We got 3 month free use of the spa before our wedding which was an added bonus. Getting trips up to the hotel to go and relax or enjoy at drink in the cellar bar was just delightful. The staff are so friendly and organised and James who managed our wedding and helped us plan up to the big day was great. He could do it with his eyes closed and still make a great job out of it. All I can say is thanks so much you really made this the best day of our life and anyone thinking of this hotel for their wedding or a nights stay or even just a meal out, go for it you definitely won’t be disappointed! We certainly were not, and we will be returning for our anniversary if we aren’t up before! Thanks again, a great hotel and spa 1st class! Xxx
Ruth H Tripadvisor Review October 2017
Staff are so friendly and helpful! I somehow ended up on first name basis with them at the weekend lol food and service is perfect, hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are so modern and comfy! Highly recommend it!
Emma Louise Facebook Review October 2017
arrived for two nights on arrival staff very friendly room really good very clean our room overlooked the river bed very comfortable large bathroom with great shower tea coffee and water in room great area for your clothes too no noise at night from areas around rooms food excellent and brilliant breakfast too all staff very good will stay here again also great for a wedding here swimming pool here also but did not use it but friends said it was good also
Veronica_Cassidy Tripadvisor Review October 2017
Plenty of parking. Nice friendly Check in.
Room was large with double bed and a single bed over looking the river.
Bed comfy. Good size tv. Large bathroom. All modern.
Good was good even though only had a starter for 2 as a main. Salad with it nice. Good sleep no noise.
Would recommend.
SteBrizz Facebook Review September 2017
We planned our wedding from Canada and I cannot explain how happy we were with the Glenavon. They were courteous, helpful and professional. We met the manager, James, 5 days before the wedding, having done the majority of ur planning through email. He helped us put together a fantastic day; the reception was beautiful and the food was lovely.
Amy Daly Facebook Review September 2017
Cannot recommend hotel enough from the minute we first went to look at venue we fell in love with it. James was so fantastic and we planned our perfect day. The staff were amazing could not do enough for us. I would recommend the hotel to anyone for their wedding fantastic service and food everyone loved it we had the best day of our lives.
Ciara N Facebook Review September 2017
We were really fortunate to be able to book the hotel for our wedding in August. It had been a long time since I had visited the hotel, and I was so impressed with the stylish renovations it had undergone. More impressive was the amazing service from the receptionists, the bar and waiting staff, and our excellent wedding co-ordinator James. There was nothing he wasn’t happy to take care of, and he took a lot of stress out of the wedding planning for me, knowing it was in such capable hands. The day itself went perfectly; the food was delicious. the service was excellent, and everyone had an amazing night. The hotel only accommodates one wedding per day, and this made our occasion feel all the more special, despite being a small wedding. A large number of family and friends stayed in the hotel on the night of the wedding, and commented on the reasonable rates and excellent rooms and facilities. The best thing about the experience was how relaxed we were all made to feel. The staff at the Glenavon want their guests to enjoy themselves, and went out of their way to make sure we did! Thanks for everything!
Frances M Trip Advisor Review September 2017
Absolutely beautiful had an amazing stay, loved every minute of it kidz didn’t want 2 Cum home! Was at my sister wedding and I must say it was the most beautiful wedding I’ve been at x.
Donna Clements Facebook Review September 2017
Fabulous hotel…….. from the front entrance onwards it epitomises luxury!! Excellent food and the presentation is something else. Will definitely be back.
Wendy Graham Facebook Review September 2017
Excellent hotel, Friendly helpful staff, Bedroom was immulate (sic), Food was amazing, Spa and pool area was child friendly clean and tidy.
Karen Dicky Facebook Review September 2017
Beautiful food, great vegan menu, love the nut roast choice for the Sunday carvery.
Melissa Murfs Facebook Review September 2017
Stayed here for a night with my partner and kids before schools back..fab service from start 2 finish..staff very friendly ..hotel spotless and the pool is fab..food was very high standard and good prices..our bedroom was massive and very clean..thanks for everything..cant wait till my next visit.
Lynsey Connolly Facebook Review August 2017
Thank you so very very much, we really appreciate it. Thank you so much for everything and making our wedding day run so smoothly. Cheers.
Catrina and Alan Postal Review September 2017
To all the Glenavon staff. Just a wee note to say thank you to all the staff in making my friend’s Hen Party so brilliant. All the staff were helpful, friendly and really went the extra mile to make it special, so thank you.
Sarah McCaighy – Bridesmaid Personal Review August 2017
Thanks again for a great night. The organisation was superb and consequently our job was much easier. everything was so appreciated by all concerned.
Noeleen at Saint Catherine’s College Review September 2017
Paula, James and all the staff, we would like to say thanks to yous all for making us feel so welcome in your hotel and for giving us the best wedding possible. It was an amazing day from start to finish and the food was fab. We had nothing but good words from our guests, nothing was ever a problem. It’s a credit to you and your staff.
Ashling and Mark Donnelly Postal Review September 2017
Everything was excellent and so we stayed an extra night. The staff are so friendly and very attentive to the kids, it really was a relaxing break and virtually everyone replied when asked a question, “no bother”.
Darren Gilliand Personal Review August 2017
Could do absolutely nothing better, such a pleasure to stay in such a lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Was only meant to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying 4 nights. Thank you.
Michelle O’Hara Personal Review August 2017
Can I just thank James, Roberta,and all the lovely staff at the Glenavon hotel for a wonderful day at my sister Ciara’s wedding , the food was excellent & the whole day was perfect from start to finish
Geraldine Leyden Personal Review August 2017
Stayed here for a night with my partner and kids before schools back..fab service from start 2 finish..staff very friendly ..hotel spotless and the pool is fab..food was very high standard and good prices..our bedroom was massive and very clean..thanks for everything..cant wait till my next visit
Lynsey Connolly Personal Review August 2017
Vegan Wedding Meal
I was very impressed by the 3 course meal I was served at my sister’s wedding. I was unsure what they would be able to serve me at a traditional wedding meal as I’m vegan. To my surprise they had already a vegetarian menu and with a couple of adaptions i was able to enjoy a lovely 3 course meal. I was served Starter – soup, Main – chickpea curry and Dessert – chocolate brownie with Berries
Clare060894 Trip Advisor Review August 2017
An evening comparable to the Savoy!
A party of six met to mark a friend’s moving to another region. As usual the food was delicious, but I felt I had to highlight the table service provided by a team of enthusiastic, friendly and caring young adults. They added to the atmosphere of The Cellar Restaurant. Despite the place being very busy on a Saturday night, yet it was as if each table was the only one there, such was the attention that was paid to the patrons who were enjoying first class cuisine
Jl52 Trip Advisor Review August 2017

Great visit to the Glenavon for a wedding last Saturday. Checked in on Friday evening and made a weekend out of the trip having dinner in the Cellar Restaurant on Friday evening. I tried the Fillet of Beef with Champ which was cooked to perfection and my wife ate from the seasonal menu, having a pasta dish which she said was first class.

The wedding was very good, everything seemed to run smoothly and could not fault the food. Leisure facilities are up there with the best hotels in the country! A large pool and a well equipped gym, both overlooking a picturesque river.

I look forward to returning to the hotel again soon for a weekend break.
Show less

JohnST Trip Advisor Review July 2017
First visit – a nice big room on first floor. Staff were all friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Extensive menu for dinner with good portions and all very tasty. Also good choice for breakfast. Sure I will be back!!
Geoff F Trip Advisor Review July 2017
We recently had our wedding reception at the Glenavon House hotel. What a fantastic day it was too!
From the first time we went to view the hotel we very well looked after by Paula who always ensured we had everything we needed and was on hand to answer any questions. All members of staff we met were friendly and spoke to us as we passed them by in reception, the spa and on our way to and from our room.
The hotel itself is well maintained and is regularly revamped to keep it looking fresh and modern. There are plenty of facilities in the hotel itself, from bar to restaurant and excellent spa facilities. The food in the restaurant is very good having eaten in it a number of times and also has a good menu to cater for all. The spa is well maintained and consists of a large pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and heated loungers. Our bedroom was enormous! We were afforded the luxury of being able to spend two nights in it as part of our wedding package and wished we could have stayed for longer. It was warm but not too warm, clean and well equipped (including the jet bath!).
On the day of our wedding we were welcomed by James who took care of proceedings. James is excellent at ensuring everything runs to plan and ensured we had nothing to worry about on the day. His attention to detail and making sure all guests were happy was second to none and anything we asked of him, he didn’t hesitate to sort out for us. The room our meal was in is a beautiful room, well decorated, has a bar for those wishing to make use of it and easily accessible toilets. Outside we were able to have our professional pictures taken with no need to go to any other location. The opportunities for pictures around the hotel are many and our pictures have turned out great. From speaking to Paula it was clear to see that the appearance of the outside of the hotel was just as important to her as the inside and great care is taken in maintaining the grounds.
The day after our wedding we spent some time walking around Drum Manor grounds which is only about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The park is lovely to walk around provided the weather is nice and a great way to spend a few hours away from the business of life.
All in all we honestly can’t find fault in this hotel and would recommend it highly to anyone thinking of staying or even having their wedding reception there!
Thanks again to Paula and James for helping ensure we had a wonderful wedding day.
TJRules Trip Advisor Review June 2017
I often stay at Glenavon hotel as I regular visit the area to visit my auntie. The staff are welcoming and friendly and so accommodating. On my last stay I had the best room the quietest room and slept fabulously in the oh so comfortable king size bed.
AnneP Trip Advisor Review June 2017
Checked into hotel a little early but the staff were amazing and got us our rooms straight away. Very impressed with the beautiful lobby, first impressions were great. Staff were very friendly and helpful and answered all our questions with a smile. We were on a party package with dinner, cocktail making and entrance to club. Although Sense was closed when we were there, we were given entrance to Time instead. Everything ran seemlessly and like clockwork. The package was amazing value for money and I really can’t fault anything. Rooms were lovely, beautifully decorated and clean. We even had our own corridor so we could be noisy and not annoy other guests. This weekend exceeded our expectations. Thanks very much staff at the glenavon. We had a great time. Thanks to Peter the bar man.
Vgrimley Trip Advisor Review June 2017
We stayed at the hotel as a friend’s wedding was nearby, it’s quite a drive from Belfast Airport but you’ll find taxi’s outside of the airport happy to take you to the hotel.
Once we arrived we were really impressed, we managed to check in quickly and the hotel had everything you could want.
We managed to do a daytrip to Belfast (not the easiest without a car!!) but reception were really helpful with telling us bus and train times and prices. Tips for Belfast: the Titanic museum was fantastic and we went to the oldest pub in Belfast – the Crown Liquor Saloon and had lunch upstairs and a spot of shopping.
We ate quite a bit at the hotel; breakfast, lunch and dinner – all very reasonably priced and tasty.
I also had my hair done on the day of the wedding and it was very reasonable and lasted all day!
All in all a fantastic trip and a great base for our time in Belfast – the people are so welcoming and friendly, they really made the trip!
Vicki52 Trip Advisor Review May 2017
I stayed for one night, on business, in the Gleanavon House Hotel. The staff were wonderful – nothing was too much trouble; the room was great, overlooking the mainentrance; and the food for both dinner and breakfast was fresh; very tsty; and plentiful.
Would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a visit.
Margaret D Trip Advisor Review May 2017
My husband and I stayed at Glenavon for 10 days and have enjoyed our time here. I organized my family’s 2nd family reunion, which was also held here in the Adair Suite.
During our own stay in this hotel, we have been so impressed with every single person we have met who works here. Each employee works for the guests in every way possible. The room has been cleaned every day. Every question or enquiry has been answered by the very hospitable and caring staff at Glenavon.
Throughout the family reunion, I was kept up-to-date with every detail and I was supported throughout my endeavours to make our family reunion a success. I could not have done it without the wonderful people of Glenavon Cookstown!
My husband Michael and I highly recommend staying here at the hotel. The cost was LESS than expected for a top-notch hotel. We will definitely be back here for our next trip to Cookstown! THANK YOU Glenavon – you’re great!
Rose Carty Armstrong Personal Review May 2017
Stayed here for a wedding and then added on a few days for a wee break. Very friendly reception staff and extremely helpful. . Always welcomed with a smile in dining room and food was very good with a wide selection of choices for breakfast. Glenavon Hotel, Cookstown was well placed for a few day trips never having to travel too far to get to north coast, Belfast or Donegal.
Would highly recommend hotel for a short break.
Ronald P Trip Advisor Review May 2017
Great nights fun at Tommy Tiernan. Had amazing fillet steaks and great wine before show. The Show was superb with an intimate but well managed setting. Service as always was second to none, ensuring all 15 guests in my party were happy. Well done The Glenavon – great night.
Halan K Trip Advisor Review April 2017
I stayed here on business this month for a couple of nights and it is a great hotel , well furnished , polite staff and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good with an option of a continental breakfast if leaving before 7am which was great.
Jim Montgomery Trip Advisor Review April 2017
Great food and great service, a member of our party was disabled and there was a good disabled access.
Marie McCrystal Google Review April 2017
I stayed here on a Saturday night with a group of girlfriends. Our rooms where large each with a double bed and a single. They were clean and well equipped. The price for our stay included our dinner along with with bed and breakfast. Dinner portions could have been a little smaller and better presented but tasty all the same. There was a cooked breakfast available that was self service and also tasty. The reception staff were very pleasant. The views of the river where very pretty. We would certainly visit again. There was plenty of car parking available also.
KMP_221 Trip Advisor Review April 2017
Great staff, excellent food and facilities, clean, tidy and very comfortable rooms.
Joe Lennon Google Review April 2017
I just wanted to let yous know how amazing our stay was with yourselves last weekend! Food was excellent, staff so helpful and the room, well it was more than what we had thought.
The riverside family suite is so beautiful, plenty of space, quiet and so relaxing! The pool was so clean and relaxing and most enjoyable. I would highly recommend your hotel to anyone! Will defo be back in the summer. Thank you for everything.
Nicole Spratt Email Review April 2017

Stayed in the Glenavon for one night with my wife on a Saturday night on the Bed and Breakfast and evening meal deal.

On arrival we walked in to a beautiful decorated reception area and even though the hotel was very busy with a big wedding we where welcomed by a very friendly and helpful receptionist.

Our room was very nice with a modern decor and a nice view over the river. Yes parts of the rooms decor could be doing with a bit of a touch up but was spotlessly clean and a very comfortable bed.

Our meal with our package was a 4 course in the Cellar restaurant was very nice our menu had a limited choice but we both found a starter and main that we thoroughly enjoyed and we could choose from anything on the desert menu.

Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style with plenty of choice and again we both really enjoyed it.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Thank you to all the staff and management for our lovely night away.

Gareth M Trip Advisor Review April 2017
Got a brilliant night at the Glenavon, staff were all curtious and polite.
Luke McD Google Review March 2017
On Monday two colleagues and I had lunch in this idyllically situated hotel in the banks of the River Ballinderry as it meanders its way to Lough Neagh, the largest freshwater lake in the British Isles and the third largest in Europe. The setting is matched by the warm welcome by friendly Cellar Restaurant staff and the high quality of the food served in the lunch time carvery.
J142 Trip Advisor Review March 2017
Nice rooms, very cozy, in a very nice and quiet location, and good food. The portions are huge and the prices are very good. the service is super. loved our stay there. Will surely visit again if I return to Dungannon.
Krystabel P Trip Advisor Review March 2017
To James and all the Glenavon Staff. I would like to formally thank you and all of the staff at the Glenavon for an excellent evening. Your co-operation and kindness to ourselves was much appreciated and also your willingness to work with us. Customer service at its best!!! Everyone and I mean everyone had an excellent evening and I will make sure everyone I meet knows about your hotel and will promote to others as an excellent venue.
Charmain Jones Rural Community Network Email Review March 2017
Very nice interiors.
Jim Montgomery Google Review March 2017
We had our wedding on Saturday 04 February 2017 at the Glenavon House Hotel! First class service, food, accommodation and location. We can’t thank James and his team enough for making our wedding experience so magical. We highly recommend this venue for a wedding!!!
Angela O’Kane Personal Review February 2017
Absolutely lovely staff friendly
Clean tidy rooms
Food very tasty indeed
Credit where’s credits due.
Andy Lamb Personal Review February 2017
I’ll def b back it’s a lovely place staff wer so friendly and helpful rooms wer lovely and clean and food was beautiful x .
Karen McCotter Personal Review January 2017
Had a lovely 1 night stay. Food was delicious, room was cosy and the staff were lovely .
Louise Murray Personal Review January 2017
Had an excellent stay at the weekend with a friend to break the ‘January blues’!
Beautiful hotel with a gorgeous entrance hall! Staff at the reception were excellent and looked out for us throughout the day and made sure we were always ok
We had a few cocktails in the hotel bar at £4.95 was good value. We used the pool and the facilities were great. Hairdryer station bonus
We had dinner that evening which for the residents four course meal which we had booked was £20, but also if u didn’t want off this menu you could order off the a la Carter menu. No complaints about the food. I got the sirloin and it was cooked to my liking of medium perfectly
Night club entry to Sense was included in our stay and because we ate in the restaurant we were upgraded to VIP. There was a table waiting on us in a private area overlooking the dance floor.
We had a brilliant stay and will definitely return to the hotel again either for a family trip or for a trip with friends .
Joanne Lynch Personal Review January 2017
Stopped off and never booked(Sunday). We had coffee while we waited for the restaurant to open at 5pm and the staff and service was excellent as usual. I have never been disappointed in this hotel. They have refurbished it recently and it is gorgeous. I would recommend it for everything including weddings .
Moke Tripadvisor Review January 2017